La Primavera

The riders leave Milan's gothic cathedral, the
traditional starting point for La Primavera.
photo: from my archives.

According to Paolo Bettini, Milan San Remo is a lottery and only 20 or so riders can win it. La Primavera is first monument of the season is the longest race in the professional calendar  at 291km. It is the sprinters classic with the fastest rider over the Poggio favored to take it. John Degenkolb won't be defending his title but they're be many favorites licking their chops. The lottery wheel will spin this Saturday, and the winner will win... big!

Start list.

My picks: 1. Peter Sagan 2. Nacer Bouhanni 3. Michael Matthews

Update: Andre Greipel is out...