Terminator & Astana Surge


That's what Peter Sagan is winning his third stage of the race. He's strong and tough and won the sprint with a terminator surge to the line. For the man many call the second coming of the Cannibal here are two testimonials...

“I have never seen a rider like him. I don’t think anyone has. He is the first-of-a-kind rider. You can expect everything because he can win what he wants. Anything. If he wins the Tour de France someday, it will not be a surprise to me. Watch out.” 

- Ivan Basso

“He is a truly phenomenal talent. And it transcends his physiological capabilities. It’s awesome to watch him on a bike. He can dive out of corners better than anyone because his bike-handling skills are better than anyone in the peloton. He can avoid crashes better than anybody. Honestly, he is hands-down one of the best in the peloton.” 

- Ted King

Astana and Janez Brajkovic scores first!
via telegraph.co.uk

"I was in pain but it was the kind of pain you like to feel."

- Janez Brajkovic

Spartacus led Team RadioShack 10s behind.

General Classification after stage 1:

1 Janez Brajkovic (Slo) Astana 29:59:00
2 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana
3 Paolo Tiralongo (Ita) Astana
4 Jakob Fuglsang (Den) Astana
5 Andriy Grivko (Ukr) Astana
6 Tanel Kangert (Est) Astana
7 Fabian Cancellara (Swi) RadioShack-Leopard 00:00:10
8 Haimar Zubeldia (Spa) RadioShack-Leopard
9 Markel Irizar (Spa) RadioShack-Leopard
10 Robert Kiserlovski (Cro) RadioShack-Leopard

Team Time Trial Results from Stage 1:

1 Astana 0:29:59
2 RadioShack-Leopard 0:00:10
3 Omega Pharma-Quick-Step Cycling Team 0:00:16
4 Sky Procycling 0:00:22
5 Movistar Team 0:00:29
6 Team Saxo-Tinkoff 0:00:32
7 NetApp-Endura 0:00:35
8 BMC Racing Team 0:00:36
9 Orica-GreenEdge 0:00:45
10 Belkin Pro Cycling Team 0:00:46
11 Lampre-Merida 0:00:56
12 Katusha 0:00:59
13 Lotto Belisol 0:01:14
14 Euskaltel-Euskadi 0:00
15 Vacansoleil-DCM Pro Cycling Team 0:01:18
16 FDJ 0:01:25
17 Cannondale Pro Cycling 0:01:26
18 Caja Rural-Seguros RGA 0:01:38
19 Garmin-Sharp 0:01:41
20 Ag2R La Mondiale 0:00
21 Team Argos-Shimano 0:01:53
22 Cofidis, Solutions Credits 0:01:55