What a masterpiece win for Bahrain Merida's Vincenzo Nibali in Milan-San Remo! He timed his moved to perfection and held off the sprinters over 294 km. He becomes the first Italian to win the race in 12 years - purgatory for Italian fans. Filippo Pozzato was the last Italian (2006) to win in the seaside town.

Milan-San Remo results

  1. Vincenzo Nibali (Ita/Bahrain) 7hrs 18mins 43secs
  2. Caleb Ewan (Aus/Mitchelton) Same time
  3. Arnaud Demare (Fra/Groupama-FDJ)
  4. Alexander Kristoff (Nor/Emirates)
  5. Jurgen Roelandts (Bel/BMC)
  6. Peter Sagan (Svk/Bora-Hansgrohe)
  7. Michael Matthews (Aus/Sunweb)
  8. Magnus Cort Nielsen (Den/Astana)
  9. Sonny Colbrelli (Ita/Bahrain)
  10. Jasper Stuyven (Bel/Trek-Segafredo)

"When I saw we had 20 or so seconds, on the last part of the Poggio, where the gradient was harder, I decided to go hard. I was free, strong and holding it as far as I could. The last kilometres were endless - just suffering."

- Vincenzo Nibali 

After a long 12 years the Italian fans can... rejoice!