GP Cycliste de Quebec: It's a great playground

Star studded group including a few past winners.

Tomorrow is the much anticipated sixth editions of the Grands Prix Cyclistes Quebec & Montreal (Sunday) races in la belle province. Kudos to the event/city organizers creating a high calibre racing event. The world's top racers have appreciated it's high level organization and hospitality. This year especially as a spring board to the upcoming world road race championship in Richmond, VA at the end of the month. I always enjoy watching the races with a special spot for Montreal - having lived there for a short time in the late nineties and visiting Quebec City on numerous occasions. 

These are important series of races especially showcasing our home grown talent...

Equipe Canada Team:

Guillaume Boivin, Ryan Anderson, Rob Britton, Alex Cataford, Adam De Vos, Benjamin Perry, Ryan Roth, Mike Woods.

"I hope to finish my season strong and do well here. Historically I had my best rides in Montreal. But different years, different situations. I like them both and hope to be up front in both."

- Ryder Hesjedal, twice on podium in Montreal.

"I won here after a fierce battle with Gesink. It was really a great win in a great race with a great organisation. The kind of rider that I am relishes that sort of terrain. It's a great playground."

- Philippe Gilbert, 2011 GP du Quebec winner.

17 UCI WorldTeams and the four wild-card teams, and their leaders »»»
  • Etixx-Quick Step (BEL): Michal Kwiatkowski (POL), Tom Boonen (BEL), Rigoberto Uran (COL), Tony Martin(GER) and Julian Alaphilippe (FRA) 
  • Team Sky (GBR): Lars Petter Norhaug (NOR) 
  • Movistar Team (ESP): Ion Izagirre (ESP) and Adriano Malori (ITA) 
  • Team Katusha (RUS): Alexander Kristoff (NOR) 
  • Tinkoff-Saxo (RUS): Michael Rogers (AUS) and Roman Kreuziger (CZE) 
  • Astana Pro Team (KAZ): Jakob Fuglsang (DAN) 
  • BMC Racing Team (USA): Philippe Gilbert (BEL), Greg Van Avermaet (BEL) 
  • Orica Greenedge (AUS): Simon Yates (GBR), Adam Yates (GBR) and Christian Meier (CAN) 
  • AG2R La Mondiale (FRA): Romain Bardet (FRA), Alexis Vuillermoz (FRA), Jan Bakelants (FRA) and Hugo Houle (CAN) 
  • Team Giant-Alpecin (GER): Warren Barguil (FRA) and Simon Geschke (GER) 
  • Lampre-Merida (ITA): Rui Costa (POR) 
  • Lotto Soudal (BEL): Tony Gallopin (FRA), Tim Wellens (BEL) 
  • Trek Factory Racing (USA): Bauke Mollema (NED) 
  • FDJ (FRA): Arthur Vichot (FRA) and Arnaud Demare (FRA) 
  • Team Cannondale-Garmin (USA): Ryder Hesjedal (CAN) and Ramunas Navardauskas (LTU) 
  • Team Lotto NL-Jumbo (NED): Robert Gesink (NED) 
  • IAM Cycling (USA): Matthias Brandle (AUT) and Matthias Frank (SUI) 
  • Team Europcar (FRA): Thomas Voeckler (FRA) and Bryan Coquard (FRA) 
  • Bora-Argon 18 (GER): Sam Bennett (IRL) 
  • Drapac Professional Cycling (AUS): William Clarke (AUS) 
  • Team Canada: Guillaume Boivin and Ryan Anderson